The Council for Culture is a body established by law to advise the Dutch Government and Parliament on the arts, culture and media. The Council provides recommendations regarding the cultural policy in the Netherlands, whether it is requested of them or not.

Usually, the Council provides a recommendation at the request of the Minister of the OCW (Ministry of Education, Culture and Science). Every four years, the Council presents its recommendations on the perennial, government-subsidised, cultural institutions. The recommendation is not binding; the Minister has the final decision about which institutes are eligible for subsidy.


The Council for Culture is made up of eight members. They all come from the cultural sector, media and the sciences. The members are selected on the basis of their broad expertise in the field of cultural policy. They are elected every four years, at the recommendation of an independent nominations committee.


In preparation of its recommendations the Council sets up temporary committees that are tailor-made. Because of a number of statutory tasks, the Council also has three permanent committees engaged in the assessment of applications for the status of professional heritage conservation organization, the nomination of sites for the European Heritage Label and nominations for the list of intangible heritage at UNESCO.

Circle of advisors

A circle of advisors is attached to the Council. The Council may appeal to the members of this circle for specific advisory programs and for the assessment and monitoring of government-subsidised institutions.

The Bureau

The Bureau is the official support for the Council and the committees. At the head of the Bureau is the director.